A Scientist’s Quest for Enlightenment

Screen Shot 2017-07-09 at 11.44.01 PMRenowned Researcher Shares His Journey Toward Uncovering the Science of Higher States of Consciousness

by David Orme-Johnson, Ph.D.

One day, as a child, I came across the word Nirvana, which was described as a state of heavenly bliss. I ran to my mother and asked her if such a thing was real. “I don’t know,” she said, “Some people believe in it, I guess.” “If it’s real,” I asked, “Why isn’t everybody trying to get it?” “What do you think, Bill?” she asked my father, a structural engineer and businessman. “Um, maybe,” he said, smiling benignly and not looking up from his newspaper. My mother, a reference librarian, said what she often did: “Look it up!”

So I did. But Webster’s definition of Nirvana was confusing to my young mind and limited experience. It said things like “the final beatitude that transcends suffering” and “a state of oblivion to care, pain.” It was synonymous with “BLISS, HEAVEN” but was a “DREAM.” Yet I also found this: “A goal hoped for but apparently unattainable.” If it was only apparently unattainable, maybe there was hope after all!

See the complete article:

Part 1 “A Scientist’s Quest for Enlightenment”:

http://enjoytmnews.org/a-scientists-quest-for-enlightenment/#.WRZoQcm1uuV

Part 2 “The Scientific Quest for Enlightenment”:

http://enjoytmnews.org/remarkable-story-scientific-exploration-enlightenment/#.WWL5qIqQyuW

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

